August 9, 2017

The University of Tennessee at Martin athletic department boasted 20 student-athletes who accumulated a perfect 4.0 Grade Point Average in 2016-17, as the Ohio Valley Conference announced its annual Medal of Honor recipients today.

The Skyhawks’ 20 OVC Medals of Honor are the second-most in program history, trailing only the 22 received by UT Martin Athletics in 2013-14. Since joining the OVC in 1992, Skyhawk student-athletes have claimed 250 OVC Medals of Honor.

Individually, Sarah Candeloro (women’s tennis) was awarded an OVC Medal of Honor for the third time in her career. Amelia Martin (women’s cross country), Renate Meckl (softball), Lauren Myers (softball) and Madison Wessling (volleyball) also brought home their second career OVC Medal of Honor award.

All in all, a total of 221 OVC student-athletes earned 4.0 GPA’s during last season’s academic school year. The OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll recipients (3.25 GPA) and the OVC Team Academic winners will be released in the next week.

UT Martin’s OVC Medal of Honor recipients are listed below. Multiple asterisks indicate the number of years the student-athlete has made the prestigious list:

Baseball (1): Winston Cannon

Women’s Basketball (1): Breanna Boggs

Men’s Cross Country (1): Joey DeSantis

Women’s Cross Country (4): Agok Ayuen, Amelia Martin**, Natalie Motor, Chantal Wilson

Softball (5): Jodie Duncan, Allison Evans, Carly Gonzales, Renate Meckl**, Lauren Myers**

Women’s Tennis (2): Sarah Candeloro***, Andrea Plantada

Men’s Track and Field (1): Joey DeSantis

Women’s Track and Field (3): Agok Ayuen, Amelia Martin, Natalie Motor

Volleyball (2): Colleen Larson, Madison Wessling**