February 20, 2014

CoSIDA Academic All-Americans

 – College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) has tabbed University of Tennessee at Martin women’s basketball senior Heather Butler to the Capital One Academic All-American second team.

The Medina, Tenn. native boasts a 3.86 GPA as a Health and Human Performance major and garnered a spot on the five-member Academic All-America second team, joining Alyssa Charlston (Idaho), Nicole Elmblad (Michigan), Ebony Rowe (Middle Tennessee) and Alli Williams (Saint Francis).

Butler is the Ohio Valley Conference’s all-time leading scorer with 2,709 career points through her senior season. A three-time All-OVC first teamer and 2012 OVC Tournament Most Valuable Player, she not only ranks 25th on the NCAA’s all-time scoring list but has scored in double figures in 123 consecutive games, good for 10th on the NCAA’s list.

In the classroom, Butler was named the program’s second OVC Scholar-Athlete, the league’s highest individual honor, while being a three-time OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll honoree. She is also a multi-year selection to the UT Martin Chancellor’s Honor Roll.

The 2013-14 Capital One Academic All-District® Men's and Women's Basketball Teams, selected by CoSIDA, recognize the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. Capital One has been the entitlement rights holder to CoSIDA's Academic All-America teams programs since 2011.

Butler was recently named a finalist for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Fans are encouraged to vote daily on the Senior Class Award website through March 24 at www.utmsports.com/voteheather. Fans votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Nashville.