October 24, 2017

Printer Friendly Version

OVC Media Day Stream on OVC Digital Network

2017-18 OVC Women's Basketball Preseason Release

Photo Gallery

Skyhawk Women's Hoops Picked to Finish Third; Feldhaus, Spray and Taylor Tabbed All-OVC

UT Martin finished in a tie for fourth place last season after going 12-19 overall and 8-8 in the league. The Skyhawks earned the fourth seeded in the OVC Tournament where they made it to the semifinals before falling to top-seeded Belmont. Kevin McMillan, the second longest tenured coach in the OVC, is entering his ninth season at the helm of UT Martin. He will have four starters among six players returning from last year. Among the returnees are senior forward Ashton Feldhaus (Richmond, Ky.), sophomore guard Kendall Spray (Lebanon, Tenn.) and junior guard Myah Taylor (Dyersburg, Tenn.) Feldhaus, who was named to the All-OVC Second Team and All-Newcomer squad last year, recorded 11.0 points and 5.1 rebounds each time out in 2016-17. Spray, who was named the 2016-17 OVC Freshman of the Year, led all freshman with 12.5 points per game to rank 15th in the league last year. She finished second in the OVC with 2.9 three-point field goals made per game while ranking seventh with a 38.4 three-point field goal percentage. Taylor, who was also named to the All-OVC Second Team, ranked among league-leaders with 12.1 points per game while also recording a 43.0 field goal percentage last season. Feldhaus, Spray and Taylor were all named to the 2017-18 Preseason All-OVC team.

2017-18 OVC Women’s Basketball Predicted Order of Finish 

1. Belmont (22 first-place votes) - 242 points

2. SIUE - 199

3. UT Martin (Two first-place votes) - 198

4. Morehead State - 192

5. Tennessee Tech - 133

6. Austin Peay - 120

7. Jacksonville State - 111

t8. Murray State - 101

t8. Southeast Missouri - 101

10. Eastern Kentucky - 83

11. Eastern Illinois - 64

12. Tennessee State – 38


2017-18 All-OVC Preseason Women's Basketball Team

Ke'Shunan James, Murray State

Darby Maggard, Belmont

Kylee Smith, Belmont

Grace Lennox, Eastern Illinois

Yaktavia Hickson, Tennessee Tech

Sally McCabe, Belmont

Donshel Beck, SIUE

Miranda Crockett, Morehead State

Ashton Feldhaus, UT Martin

Kendall Spray, UT Martin

Myah Taylor, UT Martin 

Preseason OVC Co-Player of the Year: Darby Maggard, Belmont and Sally McCabe, Belmont

Event Calendar

« June 2018 »
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30